Book Navigation

Draft Najoua Mlika-Cabanne Innovation Award

This G-I-N award acknowledges an individual’s contribution to innovation in the methodology, development, and /or implementation of clinical practice guidelines.

First award

The first Najoua Mlika-Cabanne innovation award has been offered to Marcia Kelson for her ground breaking work in patient involvement in clinical guidelines. The award has been presented to Marcia by Sara Twaddle during the closing ceremony of G-I-N 2012.


Najoua Mlika-Cabanne October 2008The Najoua Mlika-Cabanne Innovation Award is named in recognition of Najoua Mlika-Cabanne MD PHD, formerly Deputy Head of the Guidelines Department at the Haute Autorité de Santé (HAS, French National Authority for Health), Trustee of the Guidelines International Network between 2003 and 2010, and G-I-N Honorary Patron.

Najoua Mlika-Cabanne graduated in medicine from Sousse Medical Faculty in Tunisia in 1982. From a local government post in public health in Tunisia, Najoua moved to clinical research in France first at the Gustave Roussy Cancer Centre and then at INSERM, the French National Institute for Health and Medical Research. After that Najoua became deputy head of the Guidelines Department at the Haute Autorité de Santé (HAS, French National Authority for Health). She was in charge of various aspects of the development of clinical practice guidelines for over 10 years: drafting of guidelines, managing a team of guideline developers, and university teaching, in particular courses on medical statistics, quality management, and assessment of health systems. In her post at HAS, she liaised with experts in a very wide variety of aspects of the development of quality of care and health technology assessment.

From 2000, Najoua was increasingly involved in national and international partnerships. She was on the Committee for the Assessment of National Registers at the French Institute for Public Health Surveillance (InVS), was the mandated HAS representative for several collaborative international projects (for example, CoCanCPG), and was an active member of the International Review Panel of the International Society for Quality in Healthcare (ISQUA), the ADAPTE collaboration, and G-I-N.

Najoua was elected to the G-I-N Board in 2003 and was co-chairman of the International Working Group on Evidence Tables. She was also a co-editor of enGINe, the G-I-N newsletter.

During her career Dr Najoua Mlika-Cabanne made a significant contribution to the science of clinical guideline development and consistently fostered international collaboration and friendship.

Information about the award

The award should acknowledge an individual’s efforts on innovation in the methodology, development, and /or implementation of clinical practice guidelines.

The individual has provided an extraordinary (outstanding) contribution to the guideline community.

Current members of the Board or G-I-N staff are not eligible.

The judgement is made by an Award Committee comprised of guideline experts selected by the Board of Trustees (cf. below). The final decision is made by the Board of Trustees.

Current members of the Award Committee can neither nominate nor be eligible.


Nominations can only be made by organisational and individual G-I-N members. Self-nomination is not allowed.

Note: Nominees are not required to be G-I-N members.

Nominations should be sent by email to the G-I-N office:

Nominations should include:

  • Name of the nominee,
  • Position and affiliation of the nominee,
  • Contact details of the nominee,
  • Reason for nomination,
  • CV or link to the CV and list of relevant publications of the nominee
  • Name, position, affiliation and contact details of the person(s) sending the nomination

Composition of the Award Committee

  • Chair: Sara Twaddle (UK)
  • Liaison to the Board of Trustees (no voting rights): Günter Ollenschläger (DE), G-I-N Trustee, former G-I-N Chair and G-I-N honorary patron
  • Heather Buchan (AU)
  • Isabelle Durand Zaleski (F)
  • Marjukka Mäkelä (FI)
  • Ian Graham (CA)

Members of the committee are selected and nominated by the G-I-N Board of Trustees for a period of 2 years, renewable once. The annual goal is to have about 1/3 of the group replaced.

Timeline for nomination and attribution of the award

Announcement of the award and open nominations

25 April 2012
Deadline to receive the nominations 17 May 2012
Discussions within the award committee 30 May 2012
Selection of a winner 15 June 2012
Announcement of the winner at the G-I-N conference 22-25 August 2012
August 2017
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
Page last updated: May 10, 2016
Back to top