Book Navigation

Members & Governance

Steering Group


The Steering Group’s purpose is to provide advice and guidance for growing and developing the Guidelines International Network (G-I-N) North American Community (G-I-N/NA).


  • Guide the strategic development of the G-I-N North American Community
  • Identify and prioritise topics or projects that, based on the best available knowledge, could enhance regional guideline development, adaptation, dissemination, or implementation and performance measurement
  • Ensure synergy and communication between the G-I-N International, North American and other regional communities
  • Advise on future directions for growing and strengthening the Community


Individuals can volunteer or be nominated for a position on the G-I-N/NA Steering Group if they are (a) an individual or organisational member of G-I-N and (b) have experience, knowledge and interest in guideline-related activities. Membership will include representation from the G-I-N Board, G-I-N North American Community (Canada, United States, and Mexico), consumers and public, and key partnering organisations. Appointments are for 2 years, renewable once.


The Steering Group meets via teleconference at least twice a year, with ongoing e-mail contact for issues arising in the interim. An in-person Steering Group meeting occurs at the annual G-I-N Conference.


The Steering Group currently consists of the following members:

NameDetailsEmail address

Thomas S. D. Getchius


 Thomas Getchius

Manager of Clinical Documents

Heart Rhythm Society

Melissa Brouwers, PhD

Chair Elect

Melissa Brouwers

Professor and Health Services co-Lead, Department of Oncology and

Affiliate Member, Department of Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics, McMaster University

Deputy Director and Scientist, Escarpment Cancer Research Institute

Scientific Director, Program in Evidence-based Care, Cancer Care Ontario

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Sandra Zelman Lewis, PhD

Past Chair

Lewis Sandra Zelman

President, EBQ Consulting

Chief Guidelines Officer, Doctor Evidence, Northbrook, IL USA

Marguerite Koster, MA, MFT

Marguerite Koster

Practice Leader, Technology Assessment & Guidelines Unit

Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Services Unit

Kaiser Permanente Southern California, Pasadena, CA USA

Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH (Emeritus)

Rich Rosenfeld


Professor and Chairman, Department of Otolaryngology, SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Brooklyn, New York, USA

Anne Lyddiatt

Anne Lyddiatt

Patient Partner Program, National Trainer

SPOR, National Steering Group

Ingersoll, ON, Canada

Anna Gagliardi, PhD

Anna Gagliardi


Toronto General Hospital Research Unit

University Health Network

Toronto, ON, Canada

José Luis Mayorga Butrón, MD, MSc

Jose Luis Mayorga

Otolaryngology and Head and Neck Surgery Department & Associate Professor Pediatric Otolaryngology, 

National Institute of Pediatrics & National University of Mexico

Coordinator of the Evidence Based Medicine Committee, Mexican Society of Otolaryngology & HNS

Holger Schünemann, MD, MSc, PhD

Holger Schünemann

G-I-N Board of Trustees

Professor and Chair, Department of Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics

McMaster Univ. Health Sciences Centre

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Peter Wyer, MD

Peter Wyer

Associate Cinical Professor of Medicine, Columbia, Presbyterian

Chair, Section on Evidence Based Healthcare, New York Academy of Medicine

New York, NY, USA

Eddy Lang, MDCM, CCFP (EM), CSPQ

Eddy Lang

Academic and Clinical Department Head, Emergency Medicine, Cumming School of Medicine

Alberta Health Services, Calgary Zone
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Mary P Nix, MS, PMP

Mary Nix

Health Scientist Administrator

Center for Evidence and Practice Improvement

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Rockville, MD, USA

Vivian H Coates, MBA

Vivian Coates

Vice President

Information Services and Health Technology Assessment

ECRI Institute

Plymouth Meeting, PA, USA

Amir Qaseem

Amir Qaseem

Director of the Department of Clinical Policy at the American College of Physicians (ACP), US



Page last updated: Mar 02, 2017
Back to top